Drugdealer featuring Weyes Blood Honey
Enjoying Hazy Summer with Drugdealer’s “Honey” ft. Weyes Blood

Third time’s a charm, right? We wouldn’t complain a bit if Drugdealer has collaborated with Weyes Blood three times already because they are like a match made in indie heaven. Deemed themselves as a collective rather than a band, the Los Angeles-based unit led by Michael Collins has released “Honey” from their upcoming album “Raw Honey”. As expected from this combo, their honey-like vocals blend throughout the song and touch certain sentimental feelings inside of the listeners’ hearts. It resonates a lot more as the song talks about self-worth, anxiety, and creativity in an ultra commercialized world. The atmosphere took us back when we first discovered “Solitaire” by Carpenters among our parents’ music collection and blasted it out loud on the car during a summer holiday. “Honey” accentuates both Collins and Natalie Mering (Weyes Blood)’s strength as a duo.

Drugdealer featuring Weyes Blood Honey
Weyes Blood
Credit: Kathryn Vetter Miller (Sub Pop Records)

Drugdealer which is comprised of Sasha Winn (vocals), Shags Chamberlain (bass, production) as well as Collins, is slated to release “Raw Honey” on April 19th, 2019. Josh Da Costa(drums), Jackson MacIntosh (guitar), Danny Garcia (guitar), Michael Long(lead guitar), Benjamin Schwab (backing vocals, guitar, organ, piano, Wurlitzer), Dougie Poole, and Harley Hill-Richmond are enlisted as some of the collaborators on this album. If you haven’t peeped Drugdealer’s past discography, we recommend you to start from “Suddenly” which also incorporates Miss Weyes Blood or watch their little jam with Blood and Mac DeMarco for “The End of Comedy”. The band will embark on a European tour to promote this album as well. Check out the tracklist for “Raw Honey” below and enjoy a hazy dreamy summer with their latest track.

“Raw Honey” Tracklist:

1. You’ve Got To Be Kidding
2. Honey
3. Lonely
4. Lost In My Dream
5. Fools
6. If You Don’t Know Now, You Never Will
7. Wild Motion
8. London Nightmare
9. Ending On A Hi Note