BaCAA #5 15 Finalists AnnouncementHere are the 15 Young Indonesian Artists Finalists of Bandung Contemporary Art Awards #5!

Bandung Contemporary Art Awards (BaCAA) will happen for the 5th time this October and the annual event presented by ArtSociates and Lawangwangi Creative Space has announced its 15 young Indonesian artists finalist that will battle it out in the awarding night. Taking place at Lawangwangi Creative Space, Lembang, Bandung on October 5th, three best artists will be announced as winners and an exhibition showcasing the artworks from the finalists will be officiated. Since its first installment in 2010, BaCAA has become a platform for uprising young artists to launch their careers. Many artists who are the finalists of BaCAA have become a staple name on local and international art exhibitions such as Eddy Susanto, Mujahidin Nurrahman, Octora Chan, Bagus Pandega, Syaiful Garibaldi, Erwin Windu Pranata, Aliansyah Caniago and many more.

A heaping amount of submissions have been accepted by the committee since the registration was opened last February. Until its closing in August, approximately more than 400 submissions were collected from Indonesian artists below 35 years old. Five judges that come from local and international art scene will be tasked to choose this year’s best artists and they are Agung Hujatnikajennong (curator, Indonesia), Carla Bianpoen (art journalist, Indonesia), Wiyu Wahono (art collector, Indonesia), Susan Baik (gallerist, USA) and Valentine Willie (gallerist, Malaysia). These judges will value the artists’ conceptual aspect and track records as one of their point of assessment. During awarding night on October 5th, there will be performances from Rock N’ Roll Mafia and Oscar Lolang. The winners will get three different prizes with the sum of IDR 100,000,000 fund, with a chance to do art residency in Centre Intermondes, La Rochelle, France, and art trip to world’s best art center. The 15 finalists of BaCAA #5 (in alphabetical order) are:

Abshar Platisza

Andrita Yuniza Orbandi

Cynthia Delaney Suwito

Deni Ramdani

Etza Meisyara

Geugeut Pangestu Sukandawinata

Kelvin Atmadibrata

Mohamad Sabil H.

Ratu Rizkitasari Saraswati

Rendy Raka Pramudya

Restu Taufik Akbar

Ricky Janitra

Sarita Ibnoe

Tara Astari Kasenda

Yovista Ahtajida