Skandal Releases SuperfineSkandal Sweeten The Day With New Release “Sugar” EP

Alternative pop/indie rock unit from Yogyakarta, Skandal are finally back and they are here to stay with the latest release of an EP titled “Sugar”. The launching is a follow up for their single “Superfine” that was revealed back in December 2016. The EP is planned to be released in two formats which are compact disc and cassette tape with two different labels respectively. The CDs have been released under Yellow Records, a newly established record label based in the same city as the band, Yogyakarta on January 11th 2017. Meanwhile the cassette tapes will be released by Winona Tapes from Jakarta, sometime during the first four months of this year. The EP release signifies Skandal’s return to the indie music scene after going on a hiatus for almost five years.

Yogha Prasiddhamukti (vocal, tambourine), Rheza Ibrahim (guitar)Robertus Febrian Valentino (guitar, vocal) and Argha Mahendra (drum) combine their old materials and their new ones into “Sugar” and it resulted in total of five tracks. “Sugar” is also one of the title from the opening track in this album. Just like “Superfine”, the songs in this album take the influence from the aesthetic, naivety, honesty, and the melodies from American and British band during the 90’s which are then summed up in a pretty much simple interpretation. Skandal’s music is also said to be affected by Indonesian bands during the ’90 and ’00 era. Once again the album sleeve’s artwork was done by Skandal’s guitarist who happens to be an artist as well. Robertus takes his signature doodle style artwork for the mini album. Below is the complete tracklist of “Sugar” and you can purchase the CD by filling the form here. “Sugar” EP is also available to listen to via several digital streaming services.

Skandal Sugar EPEP Sugar track list:

  1. Sugar
  2. Superfine
  3. Stay Slay Slack
  4. Stuck & Stranded
  5. Sidewalk Song